PH8 Votes for the Hall of Fame (kind of)

by on December 28, 2009 · 1 comment

As with our previous 2009 player awards, the members of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance have chosen to log our votes for this year’s Hall of Fame class as well.

While we’re almost certain not to agree with the official voters, this exercise will be fun for the BBA members, and particularly Josh and I here at Pitchers Hit Eighth.

We’ll be submitting one vote to speak for the site, and as such, we’re conducting a e-mail roundtable between the two of us to argue about who will and won’t be on our submitted ballot.

Hopefully we’ll get through a few players per day in time to submit our “official” ballot by the deadline of December 31.

Understanding that the Hall of Fame can be a very polarizing topic amongst all baseball fans, we encourage you to speak up in the comments – make your case for or against a player, and maybe Josh and I will be swayed by your no doubt insightful petition.

Things got kicked off this evening in the following manner…


Nick: Let’s start with a list of our own obvious ‘no’ votes?

Without really getting too deep into stats (because my brain tells me they’re not close), I would eliminate the following:

Kevin Appier, Mike Jackson, Ray Lankford, Shane Reynolds, David Segui, Robin Ventura, Todd Zeile.

Who is on your ‘cut list’?

Josh: I like your list and would add the following to it.

Ellis Burks, Pat Hentgen, Eric Karros, Don Mattingly.

Nick: Fair enough. I may try to convince you of one of those guys near the end, but let’s begin player-by-player with Roberto Alomar


Stay tuned in the coming days to see us hash this out!

Writing about the Cardinals and other loosely associated topics since 2008, I've grown tired of the April run-out only to disappoint Cardinal fans everywhere by mid-May. I do not believe in surrendering free outs.
View all posts by Nick
Follow Nick on Twitter

Previous post:

Next post: